How Have Legendary NFL Coaches Done at Next Stops?

How Have Legendary NFL Coaches Done at Next Stops?
Fact Checked by Thomas Leary

If history is any indication, Sean Payton’s debut season with the Denver Broncos will likely lead him to reach, at the very best, the AFC Wild Card Game in his second stint as an NFL head coach. At least that's what trends for those interested in futures at Colorado sportsbook apps say.

After the departure of Nathaniel Hackett following his lone season in the Mile High City, Payton will be tasked with reviving the Broncos and leading them toward contention in a competitive AFC West, especially after the team’s significant investment on the offensive line, spending the third-most in the latest free agency period with $247 million.

Last season, the Broncos finished last in their division with a 5-12 record, which also reflected Russell Wilson’s worst year of his career. With a head coaching change and money well-spent during the offseason, the Broncos will have little to no excuses to show improvement.

Although history may be against Payton in his forthcoming season, his resume with the New Orleans Saints will encourage nationwide bettors to consider the Mile High City franchise as a serious dark horse contender. is your home for the Broncos playoff chances all season.

Bonus Bets Expire in 7 Days. One New Customer Offer Only. Must be 21+ to participate & present in CO. Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER. Visit for Terms & Conditions. US promotional offers not available in NY, NV, or Puerto Rico.


As Sean Payton enters his first season with the Broncos with 152 career wins, took a look at how every coach with 100+ wins has done in their first season with a new team, dating back to the NFL-AFL merger in 1966. We utilized to construct the list. 

Notable Coaches' Second Stops

Coach Career Wins (entering first season) New Team Record
Marty Schottenheimer 153 Chargers (2002) 8-8; Missed Playoffs
Mike Shanahan 146 Redskins (2010) 6-10; Missed Playoffs
Marty Schottenheimer 145 Redskins (2001) 8-8; Missed Playoffs
Jeff Fisher 142 Rams (2012) 7-8-1; Missed Playoffs
Bill Parcells 138 Cowboys (2003) 10-6; Lost NFC Wild Card Game
Andy Reid 130 Chiefs (2013) 11-5; Lost AFC Wild Card Game
Mike McCarthy 125 Cowboys (2020) 6-10; Missed Playoffs
John Fox 119Bears (2015) 6-10; Missed Playoffs
Chuck Knox 117 Rams (1992) 6-10; Missed Playoffs
Bill Parcells 109 Jets (1997) 9-7; Missed Playoffs
Mike Ditka 106 Saints (1997)6-10; Missed Playoffs

History Against Payton in Debut Season

Since the NFL-AFL merger in 1966, only two head coaches who achieved more than 100 wins have managed to lead their new teams to the playoffs to immediately begin their subsequent tenures for different franchises. 

Those two instances occurred with Bill Parcells in 2003 with the Dallas Cowboys, who finished 10-6 but lost in the NFC Wild Card Game against the Carolina Panthers. And most recently, Andy Reid’s 2013 season with the Kansas City Chiefs concluded with an 11-5 record and a losing AFC Wild Card Game appearance against the Indianapolis Colts following their historic 28-point comeback.

Marty Schottenheimer appears twice on the list, with the Los Angeles Chargers (2002) and Washington Redskins (2003).

Sean Payton will join this list with the second-highest amount of wins as a head coach (152), all with the Saints. Payton’s resume includes Super Bowl 44 in 2006 over the Indianapolis Colts and the 2006 AP Coach of the Year award.

But history says the cards are against him in his first season in Denver.

Ahead of the Broncos’ 2023-2024 NFL season, stick with for the latest news and betting analysis, plus the Broncos Super Bowl odds.



Felix Veletanga is an experienced reporter who has covered local news, politics, and sports in Northern New Jersey, and now lends his expertise to the Colorado sports betting market. He previously covered the Saint Peter’s men’s basketball team’s 2022 NCAA Cinderella run for HudPost. Felix specializes in combat fighting and soccer betting analysis with a focus on the Premier League.

Cited by leading media organizations, such as: